Last Spring I took a trip to Newport Rhode Island with my mom. The first day we were there I took my camera and set out for a walk. Before long I found myself walking by these beautiful, old mansions. At the time I knew nothing about the Newport mansions. After a while, I came to this tall marble wall surrounding what I guessed was another mansion. Beyond the wall I could just barely see through the trees the side of what must be the biggest house I’d seen yet. I turned down the side street next to this mysterious mansion hoping to get a better look at what lay on the other side of the wall. I found a huge iron gate, which was wide open. Through the gate I could see lots of tourists walking around and admiring the mansion. There wasn’t anyone guarding the gate so I assumed I was free to enter.

The mansion was, by far, the biggest and most magnificent I had seen yet. Statues and intricate stone carvings were everywhere and massive old trees covered the grounds. I spent over a hour exploring the back and still I had no idea what this place was. I felt like I had been taken into a different country, perhaps somewhere in Europe. When I finally made my way around to the front I came across a sign that said that tickets were mandatory to go inside the mansion and for the grounds. I snapped a few more photos a quickly made my way out, I did not want to get caught without a ticket. As I left I saw a sign titled “The Elms”.

A view from the back of The Elms

This is an up close view of the statue to the right of the back stairs

The Stable House

The center of an intricate maze of gravel paths in what I think was a garden

I couldn't get far enough away to get the whole view of the front so this is the best photo I have

A view of the front dive

The Elms! I finally figured out where I was just as I was leaving

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Ordinarily Beautiful

Hello, and welcome to my blog! My name is Emma, and I live off the coast of Maine in Portland. I grew up spending a lot of time outdoors so I love nature and the sea is basically my home. I love the city of Portland and spending time downtown is one of my favorite things to do, but I am ready for a new experience so I am looking forward to heading off to college. I am a senior this year and I’m not sure where I’ll end up next year but I am super excited to figure that out! I don’t know what Im going to study in college but I love photography, both digital and film. I mostly like to take close up pictures of the simplicity I find in nature and basically anything else around me. I also play the fiddle and Im really hoping to be in a band of some type at some point. I mainly get my inspiration from Natalie MacMaster, if you are interesting in fiddle music you should definitely check her out because she is absolutely amazing (my favorite tune is Catharsis)! Im not very good at the whole painting/drawing thing, but I have a huge appreciation for art and I love pretty much anything creative! I also love to downhill ski, read fantasy books, and hang out with friends. I try to cook, and once in a while I’ll make something decent, and fashion is kind of a little hobby of mine. Im basically going to be sharing photos of everything and anything that makes me happy. I love photography because it helps me appreciate the little things in life, and I want to be able to share those little things with others. Feel free to ask me any questions and I always love to hear your thoughts! Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. I love these photos! The architecture is beautiful and very inspiring!

  2. Excellant !! I thought it was in France !!

Leave a comment